California Coastal Commission
Fee Regulations, Amended March 17, 2008
California Code of Regulations, Title 14

ARTICLE 4. SCHEDULE OF FILING FEES FOR PROCESSING PERMIT APPLICATIONS
AND OTHER FILINGS

§ 13055. Fees.
(a) Filing fees for processing coastal development permit applications shall be as follows:
(1) $2,500 for any development qualifying for an administrative permit.

(2 (A) For up to 4 detached, single-family residences, the fee for each residence shall be
based on the square footage of the proposed residence as shown in the following table:

Square Footage of Proposed Fee

Residence

1500 or less $3,000
1501 to 5000 $4,500
5001 to 10,000 $6,000
10,001 or more $7,500

(B) For more than 4 detached, single-family residences, the fee shall be as follows:

(1) For residences of 1500 square feet or less, the fee shall be $15,000 or $1,000
per residence, whichever is greater, but not to exceed $100,000;

(2) For residences of 1501 to 5000 square feet, the fee shall be $22,500 or $1,500
per residence, whichever is greater, but not to exceed $100,000;

(3) For residences of 5001 to 10,000 square feet, the fee shall be $30,000 or
$2,000 per residence, whichever is greater, but not to exceed $100,000;

(4) For residences of 10,001 or more square feet, the fee shall be $37,500 or
$2,500 per residence, whichever is greater, but not to exceed $100,000.

For developments that include residences of different sizes, the fee shall be based
upon the average square footage of all the residences.

(C) As used herein, the term “square footage” includes gross internal floor space of
the main house and attached garage(s), plus any detached structures (e.g., guest
houses, detached bedrooms, in-law units, garages, barns, art studios, tool sheds,
and other outbuildings.)

(3) (A) For up to 4 attached residential units the fee shall be $7,500.

(B) For more than 4 attached residential units, the fee shall be $10,000 or $750 per unit,
whichever is greater, but not to exceed $50,000.
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(4)

()

All projects that include more than 50 cubic yards of grading shall be subject to an
additional fee as shown on the following table:

Cubic Yards of Grading Fee

51 to 100 $500
101 to 1000 $1,000
1001 to 10,000 $2,000
10,001 to 100,000 $3,000
100,001 to 200,000 $5,000
200,001 or more $10,000

This fee does not apply to residential projects that qualify for administrative permits.

For office, commercial, convention, or industrial (including energy facilities as defined
in Public Resouces Code section 30107) development, and for all other development not
otherwise identified in this section, the fee shall be based upon either the gross square
footage as shown in (5)(A) or the development cost as shown in (5)(B) whichever is
greater.

(A) Fees based upon gross square footage shall be as follows:

Square Footage of Fee
Proposed Development

1000 or less $5,000
1001 to 10,000 $10,000
10,001 to 25,000 $15,000
25,001 to 50,000 $20,000
50,001 to 100,000 $30,000
100,001 or more $50,000

(B)(1) Fees based upon development cost shall be as follows:

Development Cost Fee
$100,000 or less $3,000
$100,001 to $500,000 $6,000
$500,001 to $2,000,000 $10,000
$2,000,001 to $5,000,000 $20,000
$5,000,001 to $10,000,000 $25,000
$10,000,001 to $25,000,000 $30,000
$25,000,001 to $50,000,000 $50,000
$50,000,001 to $100,000,000 $100,000
$100,000,001 or more $250,000

(2) As used herein, the term “development cost” includes all expenditures, including the
cost for planning, engineering, architectural, and other services, made or to be made for
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designing the project plus the estimated cost of construction of all aspects of the project
both inside and outside the Commission’s jurisdiction.

(6) $1,000 for immaterial amendments to coastal development permits, and fifty percent
(50%) of the permit fee that would currently apply to the permitted development for
material amendments to coastal development permits.

(7) $1,000 for emergency permits. A fee paid for an emergency permit shall be credited
toward the fee charged for the follow-up coastal development permit.

(8) $2,500 for temporary events that require a permit, unless the application is scheduled on
the administrative calendar, in which case the fee shall be $1,000.

(b) Filing fees for filings other than coastal development permit applications shall be as follows:

(1) (A) $500 for either an extension or reconsideration of coastal development permit for a
single-family dwellings.

(B) $1,000 for an extension or reconsideration of any other coastal development permit.

(2) $500 for a "de minimis" waiver of a coastal development permit application pursuant to
Public Resources Code section 30624.7 and for a waiver pursuant to sections 13250(c)
and 13253(c) of this title.

(3) $250 for any written confirmation of exemption from permit requirements of Public
Resources Code section 30600.

(4) $1,000 for any continuance requested by the applicant, except the first continuance.
(5) The filing fee for:
(A) any certification of consistency that is submitted to the Commission pursuant to
sections 307(c)(3)(A) or (B) of the Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972 (16
USC section 1456(c)(3)(A),(B)), or
(B) any appeal to the Commission pursuant to Public Resources Code sections 30602
or 30603(a)(5) by an applicant of a denial of a coastal development permit
application
shall be determined in accordance with the provisions of subsection (a).
(6) The request for a boundary determination pursuant to either section 13255.1 or 13576(c)
shall be accompanied by a filing and processing fee of $250. For a request for a

boundary determination pursuant to section 13255.1 or 13576(c)(2) that pertains to two
or more parcels, the fee shall be paid on a per parcel basis.
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(7) The request for a boundary adjustment pursuant to section 13255.2 shall be accompanied
by a filing and processing fee of $5,000.

(c) The fees established in this section shall be increased annually by an amount calculated on
the basis of the percentage change from the year in which this provision becomes effective in the
California Consumer Price Index for Urban Consumers as determined by the Department of
Industrial Relations pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code Section 2212. The increased fee
amounts shall become effective on July 1 of each year. The new fee amounts shall be rounded to
the nearest dollar.

(d) Fees for an after-the-fact (ATF) permit application shall be five times the amount specified in
section (a) unless such added increase is reduced by the Executive Director when it is determined
that either:

(1) the ATF permit application can be processed by staff without significant additional
review time (as compared to the time required for the processing of a regular permit,) or

(2) the owner did not undertake the development for which the owner is seeking the ATF
permit,

but in no case shall such reduced fees be less than double the amount specified in section (a)
above. For applications that include both ATF development and development that has not yet
occurred, the ATF fee shall apply only to the ATF development. In addition, payment of an ATF
fee shall not relieve any persons from fully complying with the requirements of Division 20 of
the Public Resources Code or of any permit granted thereunder or from any penalties imposed
pursuant to Chapter 9 of Division 20 of the Public Resources Code.

(e) Where a development consists of a land division including, but not limited to, lot line
adjustments or issuance of a conditional certificate of compliance pursuant to Government Code
section 66499.35(b), the fee shall be $3,000 for each of the first four lots, plus $1,000 for each
additional lot. Conversion to condominiums shall be considered a division of the land.

(F) If different types of developments are included in one permit application, the fee shall be the
sum of the fees that would apply if each development was proposed in a separate application.
However, in no case shall the fee for residential development exceed $100,000 and in no case
shall the fee for all other development exceed $250,000.

(9) In addition to the above fees, the commission may require the applicant to reimburse it for
any additional reasonable expenses incurred in processing the permit application, including the
costs of providing public notice. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the commission shall not require
an applicant for a permit for one single-family dwelling to reimburse it for litigation costs or fees
that the commission may incur in defending a judicial challenge to the commission’s approval of
the permit.

(n) The fees specified in sections (a) and (b) may be modified under the following
circumstances:
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(1) The executive director shall waive the application fee where requested by resolution of
the commission.

(2) The executive director of the commission shall waive the filing and processing fee in full
or in part for an application for a housing development that contains housing units the
occupancy of which by persons of low or moderate income as defined in Health and
Safety Code section 50093 is assured for the period of time specified in Government
Code section 65915(c)(1). Applications for projects that will create a greater public
benefit will have a larger portion of the fee waived than applications for projects that will
create a lesser public benefit. The executive director will determine the degree of public
benefit based on a variety of factors, including, but not limited to (A) the total number of
affordable units, (B) the proportion of affordable units in the development, (C) the degree
of affordability, and (D) the availability of, and demand for, affordable units in the area.
Applications for projects that will exceed current requirements for affordable housing
under the law will receive a larger fee waiver than applications for projects which do not.

(3) For applications received prior to January 1, 2015, the executive director of the
Commission shall reduce the filing fee for projects that are certified at a minimum of the
U.S. Green Building Council’s Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED)
Gold standard or equivalent. The executive director shall determine if an alternative
certification is equivalent to the LEED Gold standard based on a comprehensive review
of the certification program’s ability to ensure an equivalent or greater environmental
benefit. After registering a project with an approved third-party certification program,
applicants expecting to obtain a certification that qualifies for the above-mentioned fee
reduction must submit 60% of the filing fee required pursuant to section 13055 and a
letter of credit or other cash substitute approved by the executive director in the amount
of the remainder of the required filing fee. After submitting proof of certification at a
minimum of LEED Gold or equivalent, the letter of credit or other cash substitute will be
released by the Commission to the applicant. If the applicant does not receive a minimum
of LEED Gold certification or equivalent within three years of the date of permit
issuance, the Commission will cash the letter of credit or other cash substitute. The
executive director may grant an extension of the three year deadline for good cause.
Request for extension must be submitted to the executive director in writing at least 60
days prior to the deadline, outlining the reason for the request and the expected
completion date. The extension shall not exceed one year.

(i) The required fee shall be paid in full at the time an application is filed. However, applicants
for an administrative permit shall pay an additional fee after filing if the executive director or the
commission determines that the application cannot be processed as an administrative permit. The
additional fee shall be the amount necessary to increase the total fee paid to the regular fee. The
regular fee is the fee determined pursuant to this section. In addition, if the executive director or
the commission determines that changes in the nature or description of the project that occur
after the initial filing result in a change in the amount of the fee required pursuant to this section,
the applicant shall pay the amount necessary to change the total fee paid to the fee so determined.
If the change results in a decreased fee, a refund will be due only if no significant staff review
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time has been expended on the original application. If the change results in an increased fee, F
the additional fee shall be paid before the permit application is scheduled for hearing by the
commission. If the fee is not paid prior to commission action on the application, the commission
shall impose a special condition of approval of the permit. Such special condition shall require
payment of the additional fee prior to issuance of the permit.

AUTHORITY: Section 30333, Public Resources Code. REFERENCE: Sections 30620(c) and
30253, Public Resources Code.
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