California Home Page

Governor's Home Page     

Home Page

CCA Program News

Contact Us

Provide Information
about a CCA

Related Links




A multi-agency statewide CCA Committee selected initial criteria for identifying CCAs, resulting in the current (2002) list of 101 CCAs along the coast and within San Francisco Bay. The CCA Committee, with public input, will reevaluate the criteria and revise the CCA list periodically; the next revision is scheduled for 2006.

The identification criteria reflect the dual goals of improving degraded water quality, and providing extra protection from NPS pollution to marine areas with recognized high resource value. The CCA program relies on existing designations of degraded water quality (i.e., the Clean Water Act 303(d) list of impaired and threatened water bodies), and marine or estuarine areas with high resource value (i.e., California Marine Managed Areas, including State Water Quality Protection Areas, and equivalent areas specified in the San Francisco Bay Plan).

Four criteria were used to identify CCAs on the 2002 CCA list.

• The 25 original CCAs identified in 1995—based upon the 303(d) list at that time—as:

1. Coastal watershed areas that drain into impaired coastal waters on the 1995 303(d) list.

• The 2002 CCA list revision narrowed the focus for identifying new CCAs with impaired waters—based on the more recent 1998 303(d) list—to:

2. Coastal watershed areas where impaired waters flow into Marine Managed Areas (MMAs); and

3. Shoreline areas within San Francisco Bay where impaired waters flow into wildlife refuges, waterfront parks, and beaches (as a substitute for MMAs).

• To better protect marine areas of high resource value that are not yet impacted by NPS pollution, the 2002 CCA list added:

4. Coastal watershed areas that drain into State Water Quality Protection Areas (also known as Areas of Special Biological Significance).

The initial inland boundary of a CCA is the Coastal Zone (as defined in the California Coastal Act); however, planning efforts may be extended farther inland as needed. The boundaries along the shoreline will be determined on a case-by-case basis.

See how individual CCAs were identified