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The California Coastal Commission (hereinafter “Commission”) proposes to amend various 
sections of the Commission’s regulations in Chapters 5, 6 and 8 of Division 5.5 of Title 14 of the 
California Code of Regulations. These chapters include fees for filing applications with the 
Commission. The proposed amendments update the Commission’s filing fees, reorganize the 
regulations for clarity, and clarify ambiguities. The majority of the Commission’s fees are 
contained within section 13055 of the regulations.  Other sections related to filing fees which are 
proposed to be amended are: 13111, 13169, 13255 and 13576. 
 
The proposed amendments include the following: 
 

1. Increased fee amounts 
 

2. New fee categories for: 
a. Federal Consistency Certifications  
b. Boundary Determinations 
c. Appeals pursuant to sections 30602 and 30603(a)(5) of the Coastal Act 
d. Written exemptions from coastal development permits 

 
3. Escalator clause, in proposed section 13055(c), which would allow the Commission to 

update the fees each year according to inflation without undertaking the rulemaking 
process 

 
4. Two new provisions for fee reductions in proposed sections 13055(h)(2) and 

13055(h)(3): one for affordable housing and one for green building 
 
The Coastal Commission has been collecting filing fees since its inception. The average annual 
income in the 16 years of the current 1991 fee structure is $572,254. The 16 year high is 
$799,987 and 16 year low is $424,840. Since the passage of the Coastal Act of 1976, all 
application and other filing fees collected by the Commission were deposited in the state General 
Fund from FY 1976-1977 through FY 1998-1999.   
 
Starting in FY 1999-2000 legislation (Chapter 782, 1997) redirected all permit fees from the 
General Fund to the State Coastal Conservancy’s Coastal Access Account. The purpose of the 
redirection of the permit fees was to use coastal permit fees for critical coastal access projects 
including operation and maintenance of access ways that can not be funded from bond funds.  
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Fines and penalties resulting from the resolution of coastal permit violation are deposited in the 
State Coastal Conservancy’s Violation and Remediation Account. 
 
All the Commission’s permit fees currently go to the Coastal Conservancy’s Coastal Access 
Account. Any redirection of increased fees to the General Fund would require legislative action. 
The Commission plans to seek legislation to redirect a portion of the increased fees to the general 
fund to be used to augment the Commission’s baseline budget. Budget augmentations will be 
requested and are essential to support additional staff and operating expenses so that the Coastal 
Commission can meet its legal mandates under the Coastal Act and provide essential and timely 
services to the public. 
 
The purpose of the amendments is to establish fees that are based on a portion of the average 
costs that the Commission incurs in processing permit applications and other filings. Currently, 
the Commission’s filing fee revenue, which is directed to the Coastal Access Account, 
constitutes approximately 8% of its regulatory budget. The proposed amendments would 
increase the filing fee revenue so that it would constitute 20% to 36% up to 50% of the 
Commission’s annual regulatory costs and budget. Because there are numerous categories of 
regulatory actions that the Commission cannot charge fees for, such as Local Coastal Program 
amendments and public agency applications, the Commission thinks that a target of no more than 
50% of the Commission’s regulatory costs is appropriate. 
 
The proposed fees are not an exact portion of actual costs to the Commission for each permit. 
The Commission is unable to show actual costs spent per permit because to do so would require 
an entirely new accounting system, and new staff to implement that system. The Commission 
does not currently have funding to implement such a system, and such a system would be 
problematic, given the nature of the Commission’s work.  
 
It is also not possible to show actual costs per permit based on total annual costs. The is because 
the applications filed in a given year, are rarely granted a permit that same year. Therefore, costs 
in a given year, do not reflect the filings received in that year. Also, some permits require one 
year or less to review, and some require 2, 5 or even 10 years to review. Because the 
Commission has rejected the approach of a full cost recovery system, and is currently not 
capable of representing its actual costs per permit, the Commission has proposed to continue to 
implement its flat fee system. Although costs can vary widely for different applications of the 
same type, the fee is always the same. Because the Commission’s projected filing fee revenue is 
only 20% to 36% of its annual costs, the Commission would not charge any given applicant a fee 
that is higher than the cost of review. 
 
The Commission has increased its fees based on the existing fee structure. Some fees were 
increased more than others, based on the average complexity of each application type. The 
proposed fees were reviewed by a team of Commission staff members with a broad range of 
experience in permit and regulatory work to ensure that the fee structure is fair and 
commensurate with the complexity of review and level of work required. In creating the fee 
schedule, the Commission also considered public input. Thus, the Commission and its staff have 
built a fair and accurate fee structure. 
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The current fees range from $200 to $20,000. The proposed increase in revenue would raise the 
filing fee revenue to between $2M and $3.6M. This is four to seven times the current revenue. If 
the Commission were to increase all fees by a factor of four to seven, the fees for each category 
would not be comparable to the Commission’s associated costs. For example, a five-fold 
increase would raise the fees for both waivers and administrative permits from $200 to $1000. 
Although many waivers require more than $1,000 in Commission costs, administrative permits 
generally require more staff time, and should be charged more. Therefore, in order to raise the 
fees, while maintaining low fees for filings that require minimal staff time, the range of fees is 
proposed to increase to $250 for simple projects to $250,000 for the largest, most complex 
projects. To distribute the fees based on relative Commission costs, while creating an overall 
revenue increase of 20% to 36%, the Commission increased some fees by a larger percentage 
than other fees. 
 
The Commission has two major types of permits, administrative permits, and regular permits. 
Administrative permits generally do not receive special conditions, and regular permits generally 
do. Regular permits also generally have longer, more involved staff reports. There are also a 
number of procedural-type filings. These include: waivers, immaterial amendments, extensions, 
exemptions, continuances, and boundary determinations. These filings are generally handled at 
the staff level, and require limited input from technical and legal staff. 
 
To establish appropriate fee amounts, Commission staff first analyzed the complexity of 
applications that are received within each fee category. Fees for more complex applications are 
higher than fees for less complex applications. Elements of complexity that affect the proposed 
fee amounts include: the square footage of the proposed development; the total cost of 
development; the typical number of technical studies associated with the development; the 
typical number of special conditions associated with the average application; the time and 
expertise required to perform services applied for; and the impact of the development on coastal 
resources, which requires analysis under the Coastal Act. 
 
Commission staff also conducted a survey of local governments which charge fees in the Coastal 
Zone for application review that is similar to the application review performed by the 
Commission. A detailed description of the survey can be found below in the section titled, 
“Technical Studies.” A major difference between the planning fees of local governments and the 
Commission’s filing fees is that the Commission’s fees include the cost of environmental review, 
and local governments charge an additional fee for environmental review. Environmental review 
is a costly process that is often undertaken by consultants, which adds substantially to the cost of 
review. Nevertheless, this survey was used to ensure that the proposed fees are not excessive in 
comparison to those charged by local governments. 
 
AMENDMENTS 
 
The following breaks the amendments down by subsection and describes the purpose and 
rationale for each of the proposed amendments. 
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13055(a) 
The proposed revision divides the filing fees into section (a) which addresses fees for 
coastal development permit applications and section (b) which addresses all other types of 
filings. The purpose of this revision is to make the regulations clear and easy to follow. 
 
13055(a)(1) 
The proposed revision raises the fee for an administrative permit from $200 to $2,500. The 
purpose of this increase is to establish a fee that is based on a portion of the average costs 
that the Commission incurs in processing applications for administrative permits. The cost 
of processing administrative permits is limited because administrative permits do not 
generally carry special conditions. Special conditions increase Commission costs because 
they often involve the creation of site-specific mitigation which requires expertise from the 
Commission’s technical and legal staff. Special conditions also increase costs because 
often, they must be monitored by staff before and after the permit is granted. In 
establishing new fee categories and levels that achieve this objective, the Commission has 
used fees currently charged by local governments for similar development categories as 
guidance. The average local government fee for administrative permits found in the fee 
study was $3,474. The Commission has proposed a lower fee because the cost of 
processing administrative permits is limited, as described above. The fee for administrative 
permits represents a baseline fee for the fee schedule because all regular permits must have 
higher fees, based, in part, on the fact that they are subject to special conditions. 
Procedural-type filings must have lower fees, because they require less staff time and 
expertise. Using $2,500 as the baseline fee for administrative permits results in an 
estimated annual filing fee revenue which will meet the Commission’s need to collect an 
increased portion of its annual regulatory costs through filing fees. As illustrated in Exhibit 
1, “Estimated Filing Fees,” the estimated filing fee revenue is $2M to $3.6M, which 
represents 20% to 36% of the Commission’s estimated annual regulatory costs. 
 
13055(a)(2)(A) 
The proposed revision adds the phrase “For up to 4 detached, single-family residences the 
fee for each residence” so that fees for projects with 4 or fewer residences would be 
differentiated from fees for projects with more than 4 residences. The current regulations 
require each single-family residence in a development to be charged separately. However, 
the fee structure would cause the following problem: because there is a maximum fee in 
subsection (f) of $100,000 for residential development, if the full fee was charged for each 
residence in a large development, then the developer of a project with 22 residences 
between 1,501 and 5,000 square feet would be charged the same fee as a developer of a 
project with 200 single family homes of the same size. Both would be charged the 
maximum fee of $100,000. To minimize this discrepancy, a separate fee structure has been 
included in section (a)(2)(B) for developments of more than four detached, single-family 
homes. Therefore, the purpose of the proposed revision is to ensure that developments 
which create larger impacts and require more analysis are charged a higher fee than 
developments which cause smaller impacts and require less analysis. 
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The proposed revision increases fees for up to 4 detached, single-family residences. The 
current fee for each home under 1,500 square feet is $250 and the proposed fee is $3,000. 
The fee for homes from 1,501 to 5,000 square feet is currently $500 and the proposed fee 
is $4,500. The fee for homes that are more than 5,001 square feet is currently $1,000. The 
purpose of this increase is to establish a fee that is based on a portion of the average costs 
that the Commission incurs in processing applications for single-family residences. The fee 
for homes begins at $3,000 because the complexity of review for a small home is generally 
a step up in complexity compared to that required for an administrative permit. The fees 
for larger homes are larger, because the size of the development directly impacts coastal 
resources and the complexity of project review and analysis, which directly impact the 
Commission’s costs. In establishing new fee categories and levels that achieve this 
objective, the Commission has used fees currently charged by local governments for 
similar development categories as guidance. 
 
The proposed revision adds fees for residences between 5,001 and 10,000 square feet and 
for residences larger than 10,001 square feet. The proposed fee for residences between 
5,001 and 10,000 square feet is $6,000 and the fee for residences over 10,001 square feet is 
$7,500. The current regulations have one fee for all homes over 5,001 square feet. 
However, many new residences are 10,000 square feet or more, and it would be 
inappropriate to charge the same fee for residences between 5,001 and 10,000 square feet 
as for residences that are larger than 10,001 square feet, because larger homes cause more 
coastal impacts that need to be reviewed and considered. The purpose of the proposed 
revision is to update the Commission’s fee structure to reflect current trends in land 
development and to ensure that developments which create larger impacts and require 
more analysis are charged a higher fee than developments which cause smaller impacts and 
require less analysis. 
 
13055(a)(2)(B) 
Currently, the regulations require each single-family house in a development to be charged 
separately. However, the fee structure would cause the following problem: because there is a 
maximum fee in subsection (f) of $100,000 for residential development, if the full fee was 
charged for each residence in a large development, then the developer of a project with 22 
residences between 1,501 and 5,000 square feet would be charged the same fee as a developer 
of a project with 200 single family homes of the same size. Both would be charged the 
maximum fee of $100,000. To minimize this discrepancy, a separate fee structure has been 
included in section (a)(2)(B) for developments of more than four detached, single-family 
homes.  
 
In subsection (a)(2)(B), a new fee structure is proposed for detached single family 
developments of more than four residences. For these applications, the fee is based on the 
size of the residences being built. For more than four residences of 1500 square feet or less, 
the fee is either $15,000 or $1,000 per residence, whichever is greater. For more than four 
residences between 1,501 and 5,000 square feet, the fee is either $22,500 or $1,500 per 
residence, whichever is greater. For more than four residences between 5,001 and 10,000 
square feet the fee is either $30,000 or $2,000 per residence, whichever is greater. And for 
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more than four residences of 10,001 square feet or more, the fee is $37,500 or $2,500 per 
residence, whichever is greater. For all residential development, there is a maximum fee of 
$100,000. For developments with residences of different sizes, the fee will be based on the 
average size of all the residences. 
 
Although the maximum fee of $100,000 is higher than the local government average obtained 
in the survey, staff has determined that this is the appropriate fee. Each house in a large 
development has an impact on the environment, and large developments present new 
complications for infrastructure planning that are not created by the development of one new 
single-family residence. Also, $100,000 is still a small portion of the total development cost. 
A hypothetical example might be a 100-unit detached single-family residential development, 
with homes of 3,000 square feet each. Assuming a construction cost of $100 per square foot1, 
and no additional cost of infrastructure, the $100,000 filing fee would represent only .33% of 
the total project cost. 
 
13055(a)(2)(C) 
The proposed revision adds a definition of square footage. The purpose of the revision is to 
clarify which structures in a development should be included in the square footage which 
is used to calculate the fee described in sections 13055(a)(2)(A) and 13055(a)(2)(B). The 
proposed definition includes all enclosed structures, regardless of their habitability because 
all structures cause coastal impacts which need to be reviewed by staff before issuing a 
permit. Currently, the regulations do not specify a method for calculating square feet, so 
the purpose of the proposed revision is to clarify ambiguities. 

 
13055(a)(3) 
The proposed revision moves the fee for lot line adjustments to subsection 13055(e) and 
deletes the phrase “for divisions of land where there are single family residences already 
built and only one new lot is created…” The purpose of moving the fee for lot line 
adjustments is because it is more appropriate to include lot line adjustments with 
subdivisions in subsection (e) than to keep it grouped with multi-family development as it 
was in subsection 13055(a)(3). The purpose of deleting the phrase “for divisions of land 
where there are single family residences already built and only one new lot is created…” is 
that the circumstance this describes is infrequent and would be categorized as a subdivision 
and charged accordingly. 
 
13055(a)(3)(A) 
The proposed revision rewords the subsection for clarification. The purpose of this revision 
is to create regulations which are clear and easy to follow. 
 
The proposed revision increases the fee for up to 4 multi-family residential units from 
$600 to $7,500. The purpose of this increase is to establish a fee that is based on a portion 
of the average costs that the Commission incurs in processing applications for multi-family 
residences. The fee is $7,500 because that is the fee for new residences of 10,000 square 

                                                 
1 Estimate based on the International Code Council’s 2006 Building Valuation Data.
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feet. Multi-family developments with 4 or fewer units generally require staff costs that are 
equal to staff costs for 10,000 square foot residences because they are generally associated 
with a similar size development. The size of the development directly impacts coastal 
resources and the complexity of project review and analysis, which directly impact the 
Commission’s costs. In establishing new fee categories and levels that achieve this 
objective, the Commission has used fees currently charged by local governments for 
similar development categories as guidance. 
 
13055(a)(3)(B) 
The proposed revision rewords the subsection for clarification. The purpose of this revision 
is to create regulations which are clear and easy to follow. 
 
The proposed revision increases the fee for more than 4 multi-family residential units from 
a minimum of $2,000 to a minimum of $10,000, increases the fee per unit from $120 to 
$750, and increases the maximum fee from $20,000 to $50,000. The purpose of this 
increase is to establish a fee that is based on a portion of the average costs that the 
Commission incurs in processing applications for multi-family residences. The maximum 
fee is half the amount of the maximum fee for single-family development because multi-
family development is generally far smaller in square footage that single-family 
development. The size of the development directly impacts coastal resources and the 
complexity of project review and analysis, which directly impact the Commission’s costs. 
In establishing new fee categories and levels that achieve this objective, the Commission 
has used fees currently charged by local governments for similar development categories 
as guidance. 
 
13055(a)(4) 
The regulations currently require a $200 fee for residential projects that include more than 
75 cubic yards of grading. The proposed amendments would change this in four ways. 
First, the grading fee would apply to all projects, not just residential. Second, the cutoff of 
75 cubic yards that triggers an additional fee would be lowered to 50 cubic yards. Third, 
the fee structure would include five increments of grading amounts. And fourth, the fee 
would be raised. The new fees are proposed as follows2: 

 
Cubic Yards of Grading Proposed Fee 
51 to 100 $500 
101 to 1000 $750 $1000
1001 to 10,000 $1,000 $2000
10,001 to 100,000 $1,250 $3000
100,001 or more to 200,000 $1,500 $5000
200,001 or more $10,000

                                                 
2 In the first regulation revisions, which were made available for public comment from October 30, 2007 through 
November 13, 2007, the Commission increased the fees for projects that include more than 100 cubic yards of 
grading. The reason for the increase is that the originally proposed fees were not high enough to reflect the 
complexity of review involved in grading projects, which substantially disturb coastal resources. 
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The grading fee was first added to the regulations in 1991 to cover the cost of the 
additional time necessary to review the impacts of large amounts of grading. The 1991 fee 
schedule also included a $5 fee for every additional 1,000 cubic yards of grading, but this 
additional fee was removed in 1998 because it was considered to be too small to warrant 
the calculation. However, an increased fee for more grading is appropriate because more 
grading causes more impacts and requires more review. The Commission is proposing to 
use the grading fee schedule put forth in the Uniform Building Code (UBC) and to apply it 
to all types of projects, not just residential projects. The UBC schedule will add more cubic 
yard increments, so that large amounts of grading will be charged a larger fee than small 
amounts of grading. The purpose of this revision is to create a fee structure which reflects 
the additional time required to review larger amounts of grading and the associated 
disturbances. Large amounts of grading require additional technical analysis, water quality 
impact analysis, and also may require projects to be redesigned to ensure conformity with 
Coastal Act policies that require development to minimize landform alteration and 
minimize impacts to coastal resources. As grading increases, the complexity of project 
analysis review and the number and complexity of special conditions increases, therefore 
the fee schedule generally increases at increasing rates. 

 
13055(a)(5) 
The proposed regulations are amended so that when calculating the fee for commercial and 
industrial developments, the fee will be based upon either the gross square footage or the 
development cost, whichever is greater. 
 
The proposed fees are as follows: 

 
    Fees based upon gross square footage 

Square Footage Current Fee Proposed Fee 
1000 or less $500 $5,000 
1001 to 10,000 $2,000 $10,000 
10,001 to 25,000 $4,000 $15,000 
25,001 to 50,000 $8,000 $20,000 
50,001 to 100,000 $12,000 $30,000 
100,001 or more $20,000 $50,000 

  
    Fees based upon development cost3

Current Development Cost Categories Current Fee Proposed Fee 
$100,000 $50,000 or less N/A $3,000 
$50,001 to $100,000 to $500,000 $600 $6,000 
$100,001 to $500,000 $500,001 to $2,000 $10,000 

                                                 
3 Because the Commission’s fee schedule was last updated in 1991, it was based on outdated development costs. 
Therefore, in the first regulation revisions, which were made available for public comment from October 30, 2007 
through November 13, 2007, the Commission approved an updated fee schedule for development cost that is more 
proportionate to the fee schedule which is based on square footage. 
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$2,000,000 
$500,001 to $1,250,000 $2,000,001 to 
$5,000,000 

$4,000 $20,000 

$1,250,001 to $2,500,000 $5,000,001 to 
$10,000,000 

$8,000 $25,000 

$2,500,001 to $5,000,000 $10,000,001 to 
$25,000,000 

$12,000 $30,000 

$5,000,001 to $10,000,000 $25,000,001 to 
$50,000,000 

$20,000 $50,000 

$10,000,001 to $100,000,000 $50,000,001 
to $100,000,000 

N/A $100,000 

$100,000,001 or more $100,000,001 or 
more 

N/A $250,000 

 
The proposed revision adds new fee categories for projects with a development cost of less 
than $50,000, between $10,000,001 and $100,000,000, and more than $100,000,001. The 
purpose of the new fee for projects less than $50,000 is to create a smaller fee for small 
projects. The purpose for new fee categories more than $5,000,001 is that project costs 
have increased substantially since the regulations were amended in 1991. At that time, a 
project with a development cost of over $5,000,000 may have been a very large project. 
However, today a $5,000,000 project may be small, and a large project may cost more than 
$100,000,000 to develop. The current regulations charge the same fee for a $5,000,000 
project as for a $100,000,000 project. The proposed revision would ensure that larger 
projects are charged larger fees. 
 
The proposed revision increases the fee in each category. The purpose of this increase is to 
establish a fee that is based on a portion of the average costs that the Commission incurs in 
processing applications for commercial and industrial applications. In establishing new fee 
categories and levels that achieve this objective, the Commission has used fees currently 
charged by local governments for similar development categories as guidance. 
 
Currently, commercial and industrial developments are charged either by the total square 
feet of development or by the total development cost of the project. However, there is no 
indication in the current regulations as to how to choose between the two different methods 
of calculating the filing fee. To clarify this, the proposed regulations require the higher of 
the two fees be charged. 
 
Also, the term “development cost” is used in the current regulations but is not defined. To 
make the regulations clear and easy to follow, the following definition of “development 
cost” has been proposed:  
 

“all expenditures, including the cost for planning, engineering, architectural, and 
other services, made or to be made for designing the project plus the estimated 
cost of construction of all aspects of the project both inside and outside the 
Commission’s jurisdiction.”  
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This is the same definition that is used by the San Francisco Bay Conservation and 
Development Commission. 
 
The proposed revision includes “all other development not identified in this section.” The 
purpose of including this statement is that some projects, such as residential remodels, 
cannot be charged a fee based on square footage, and the regulations do not provide an 
alternative fee schedule for such projects. The proposed revision would cause such projects 
to be charged according to the total development cost of the project. However, it is often 
the case that small residential projects are issued waivers, which have a proposed fee of 
$500, or administrative permits, which have a proposed fee of $2,500. 
 
Major energy facilities are currently charged a flat fee of $20,000. The Commission 
considered proposing a higher flat fee as a part of this regulation update. However, a flat 
fee for energy facilities may not be appropriate given the wide range of energy projects 
that are expected to be developed in the future. New alternative energy facilities could 
potentially be far smaller in scope than traditional petroleum facilities. Therefore, the 
proposed regulations require energy facilities be treated as any other industrial 
development. The purpose of this revision is to ensure that small energy projects are 
charged a smaller filing fee than large energy projects. 
 
13055(a)(6) 
The proposed revision increases the fee for immaterial amendments from $200 to $1,000. 
The purpose of this increase is to establish a fee that is based on a portion of the average 
costs that the Commission incurs in processing amendments. In establishing new fee 
categories and levels that achieve this objective, the Commission has used fees currently 
charged by local governments for similar development categories as guidance. The fee is 
$1,000 because it is a procedural-type filing and therefore must be less than the $2,500 
administrative permit, but because all amendments require a review of the existing permit 
and site conditions, it generally requires more staff time than a waiver.  
 
13055(a)(7) 
The proposed revision increases the fee for emergency permits from $200 to $1,000. The 
purpose of this increase is to establish a fee that is based on a portion of the average costs 
that the Commission incurs in processing applications for emergency permits. The fee of 
$1,000 represents a deposit only; Applicants that are granted emergency permits are 
required to return to the Commission for a regular permit, and at that time, they are 
required to pay the regular permit fee, less the $1,000 emergency permit fee. The 
Commission does not charge an additional fee for the expedited review involved with 
emergency permits, recognizing that emergency permits are generally applied for after 
natural disasters. In establishing new fee categories and levels that achieve this objective, 
the Commission has used fees currently charged by local governments for similar 
development categories as guidance. 

 
13055(a)(11) through (a)(14) 
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The proposed revision moves these regulations to subsection (b). The purpose of this 
revision is to make the regulations clear and easy to follow by dividing them into two 
distinct categories: fees for coastal development permit applications and fees for all other 
filings. 
 
13055(a)(8) 
The proposed revision increases the fee for temporary permits from $500 to $2,500. The 
purpose of this increase is to establish a fee that is based on a portion of the average costs 
that the Commission incurs in processing applications for temporary permits. The impacts 
of temporary permits are limited by the fact that they are temporary in nature, and, only a 
portion of the Coastal Act’s policies govern temporary impacts. Temporary permits 
generally require the same level of time and expertise required for administrative permits, 
so they have the same fee. In establishing new fee categories and levels that achieve this 
objective, the Commission has used fees currently charged by local governments for 
similar development categories as guidance. 
 
13055(b) 
The proposed revision creates subsection (b) which only addresses filings other than 
coastal development permit applications. The purpose of the revision is to make the 
regulations more clear and easy to follow. 

 
13055(b)(1) 
The proposed revision moves the fees for extensions and reconsiderations from subsection 
(a) to subsection (b). The purpose of the revision is to include these fees in the subsection 
which addresses filings other than coastal development permit applications in order to 
make the regulations clear and easy to follow. 
 
The proposed revision increases the fees for extensions and reconsiderations from $200 to 
$500 for single-family dwellings, and from $500 to $1,000 for all other development types. 
The purpose of this increase is to establish a fee that is based on a portion of the average 
costs that the Commission incurs in processing applications for extensions and 
reconsiderations. Extensions and reconsiderations require staff and the Commission to 
review the proposed project as well as existing conditions. The fee is $500 for single-
family dwellings because this review is similar to the review required for a waiver. The fee 
for other projects is $1,000 because non-residential projects are generally more complex, 
and because the Commission would like to continue its practice of having lower fees for 
residential development. In establishing new fee categories and levels that achieve this 
objective, the Commission has used fees currently charged by local governments for 
similar development categories as guidance. 
 
13055(b)(2) 
The proposed revision moves the fee for waivers from subsection (a) to subsection (b). The 
purpose of the revision is to include this fee in the subsection which addresses filings other 
than coastal development permit applications in order to make the regulations clear and 
easy to follow. 

11 



California Coastal Commission 
Revisions to the Statement of Reasons 
(Shown in Strikeout and Underline) 
 

 
The proposed revision increases the fee for waivers from $200 to $500. The purpose of this 
increase is to establish fees that are based on a portion of the average costs that the 
Commission incurs in processing waivers. The cost of processing waivers is minimized by 
the fact that the Commission generally produces a one page description of the project, not a 
staff report, and, waivers are generally not reviewed by technical staff. 
 
13055(b)(3) 
The proposed revision adds a new fee for written exemptions. Written exemptions are 
often requested by project applicants who are unsure if they need a Coastal Commission 
permit before starting their project. Exemptions often require many hours of staff research. 
Generally, exemptions require the same amount of Commission costs as boundary 
determinations, and were therefore assigned the same fee of $250. Written permit 
exemptions require less complex review than waivers, which are assigned a fee of $500. 
Therefore, The purpose of the revision is to add a fee for a service provided by staff which 
is commensurate with the amount of work necessary to complete the task. 
 
13055(b)(4) 
The proposed revision moves the fee for continuances from subsection (a) to subsection 
(b). The purpose of the revision is to include this fee in the subsection which addresses 
filings other than coastal development permit applications in order to make the regulations 
clear and easy to follow. 
 
The proposed revision increases the fee for continuances from $100 to $1,000. The 
purpose of this increase is to establish a fee that is based on a portion of the average costs 
that the Commission incurs in processing applications for extensions and reconsiderations. 
Continuances granted at the request of the applicant benefit the applicant by allowing them 
additional time to respond to the Commission. Continuances take staff and Commission 
time by delaying Commission action and requiring re-publication of extensive written 
reports and re-scheduling of the public hearing. In establishing new fee categories and 
levels that achieve this objective, the Commission has used fees currently charged by local 
governments for similar development categories as guidance. 
 
13055(b)(5) 
The proposed revision assigns the same filing fees for consistency certifications and for 
certain appeals that are charged for coastal development permit applications according to 
subsection (a). The purpose of the revision is to charge the same fees for these items as for 
coastal development permit applications because they require the same level of review. 
 
13055(b)(5)(A) 
The proposed revision adds a filing fee for consistency certifications. The federal 
regulations which authorize the Commission to require consistency certifications, 15 CFR 
Part 930, Subparts D and E, are silent with regard to the charging of filing fees by states 
for consistency certifications. The purpose of the revision is to ensure the Commission is 
receiving fees for all of the filings it is legally able to charge fees for. It is not possible for 
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the Commission to charge fees for public agency applications or for local coastal program 
amendments. 
 
13055(b)(5)(B) 
The proposed revision adds a filing fee for appeals which are denied at the local level. The 
proposed revision will apply to only a very small percentage of appeals. The purpose of the 
revision is to charge a fee only for appeals in which the applicant is requesting additional 
review from the Commission. 
 
13055(b)(6) 
The proposed revision adds a filing fee for requests for boundary determinations. 
Currently, there is no fee for boundary determinations. Mapping staff regularly performs 
these determinations which can be quite complex, require written notice and take many 
hours of staff time to perform. The proposed fee for boundary determinations is $250. The 
fee is $250 because boundary determinations generally require similar costs as permit 
exemptions, and generally require a less complex review process than waivers. The 
purpose of the revision is to ensure the Commission is receiving fees for all of the filings it 
is legally able to charge fees for. It is not possible for the Commission to charge fees for 
public agency applications or for local coastal program amendments. 

 
13055(b)(7) 
The proposed revision amends the filing fee for boundary adjustments. It moves the fee 
from Section 13255 and establishes one fee for boundary adjustments. The Commission 
may adjust the boundary of the Coastal Zone pursuant to Coastal Act section 30103(b). 
Boundary adjustments require staff reports and review by the Commission, and they 
generally require a level of review similar to that required for reviewing a new house. 
Therefore, a fee of $5,000 for boundary adjustments has been proposed. The current fee 
regulation found in 13255.2 has not been updated since the Commission’s first regulations 
were adopted in 1973, and the fee structure is based on the size of the parcel that will be 
affected by the adjustment. However, the Commission staff has determined that the time it 
takes to review a boundary adjustment has little relationship with the size of the parcel. 
Therefore, the Commission is proposing only one fee. 

 
13055(c) 
The proposed amendment adds an automatic fee escalator to the Commission’s fee 
regulations. This fee escalator will allow the Commission to adjust its fees each year by the 
amount of inflation determined by the California Consumer Price Index. It states that each 
year, the new fees as adjusted by the California Consumer Price Index will become 
effective July 1. The Commission will calculate the new fees after the Department of 
Industrial Relations publishes the annual index value, and then will adjust the fee schedule 
that is issued to the public and posted on the Commission’s website. The purpose of this 
automatic escalator is to ensure that filing fees are increasing at least at the rate of 
inflation, and that future fee increases will not be as substantial as the current one. 
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13055(d) 
Subsection (d) is for after-the-fact (ATF) permits. ATF permits enable the Commission to 
authorize development that has been completed without a permit, when that development 
can be found to be consistent with the Coastal Act. The proposed fee for ATF permits is 
five times the normal fee. Local governments in the Coastal Zone charge from 2 to 9 times 
the regular filing fee for ATF permit authorization. This is because ATF permits require 
more review than normal permits. Often, more site visits than usual are required to analyze 
the site as it would have been before the unpermitted development occurred. It is far more 
difficult to assess environmental impacts and to devise conditions for mitigating 
environmental impacts after development has occurred. To ensure that the few ATF 
permits that do not require substantial staff time are not overcharged, the proposed 
regulations allow the executive director to reduce the ATF filing fee when appropriate. 
However, the fee would never be allowed to be less than two times the regular filing fee. 
 
The proposed regulations also clarify that the ATF fee is only charged for the portion of 
the application which has been developed without a permit. This is important because 
applicants often request ATF approval of development at the same time that they apply for 
a larger development. For example, an already completed well might be applied for at the 
same time that an applicant applies for a permit to build a house. In this circumstance, the 
proposed regulations would require ATF fees only for the portion of the project that was 
carried out without a permit. 
 
13055(e) 
Under the Commission’s current regulations, if an applicant requests a permit for a 
subdivision and construction of residences, the applicant is only charged the fee for review 
of the residences. This exemption from the fee for subdivision review is inconsistent with 
the staff time required to review the two elements of the project. A subdivision requires 
Commission and staff review time, regardless of when the residences are built. The 
proposed subsection (e) removes the exemption from subdivision fees when an applicant 
proposes both subdivision and construction of residences. 
 
The existing regulations have the fee for subdivisions equal to the fee for single family 
residences, so that each new lot created by a subdivision is charged the same fee as a single 
family residence. However, the current regulations have three different fees for three 
different sizes of residences, and the regulation regarding subdivisions does not say which 
fee should be applied. To clarify this, the proposed revisions set forth a $3,000 fee for each 
of the first four lots, and $500 $1,0004 for each additional lot. The fee of $3,000 was 
chosen because it is the proposed fee for the smallest house on the fee schedule. The fee 

                                                 
4 The originally proposed fee for subdivisions was $3,000 for each of the first four lots and $500 for each additional 
lot. In the first regulation revisions, which were made available for public comment from October 30, 2007 through 
November 13, 2007, the Commission approved an additional increase so that the revised fee is $3,000 for each of 
the first four lots and $1,000 for each additional lot. The reason for this revision is that the originally proposed fee of 
$500 for each lot over four lots was too low as compared to the average complexity of this type of application 
review. This revision is in section 13055(e) and can be found on page 5 of Exhibit A. 
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was reduced to $500 $1,000 for each lot over 4 lots because the level of review required 
for 20 lots, is generally less than 20 times that required for the review of 1 lot. 
 
The proposed revision includes filing fees for conditional certificates of compliance in 
subsection (e). Conditional certificates of compliance legalize lots that were subdivided in 
a manner that did not conform to legal requirements that were applicable to that 
subdivision at the time it occurred. The purpose of this revision is that conditional 
certificates of compliance require a similar level of review as for an application for a new 
subdivision.  
 
The fee for lot line adjustments is currently $600, and the amended fee is proposed to be 
$3,000. This is the same fee as is proposed for the creation of one new lot through a 
subdivision. This is an appropriate fee because the Commission and staff must review the 
impacts of the new configuration of two lots on the development potential or existing 
development and also on the surrounding development. 
 
13055(f) 
The existing regulations require applicants to pay separate fees for different types of 
development, even if they are included in one application. The proposed amendments do 
not revise this. However, the current maximum fee is $20,000, which is also the highest 
current fee for any fee category. The proposed revision raises the maximum fee to the 
highest proposed fee for any one fee category: $250,000. The proposed revision also limits 
the fees for residential development, so that the maximum fee is $100,000.  
 
13055(g) 
The proposed revision deletes the words “in consideration of” and replaces them with 
“processing”, to clarify the language and make it consistent with the language of section 
30260(c)(1) of the Coastal Act. 
 
In the first regulation revisions, which were made available for public comment from October 
30, 2007 through November 13, 2007, the Commission approved additional language in 
section 13055(g) that would exempt applicants for single-family homes from indemnification 
conditions. This exemption would not increase fees; it would prevent the Commission from 
requiring some applicants to reimburse its attorney’s fees. The proposed revision is shown in 
double underline on page 5 of Exhibit A, and adds the following sentence to section 13055(g): 

 
“Notwithstanding the foregoing, the commission shall not require an applicant for 
a permit for one single-family dwelling to reimburse it for litigation costs or fees 
that the commission may incur in defending a judicial challenge to the 
commission’s approval of the permit.” 

 
13055(h) 
Subsection (h)(1) is an existing regulation which allows the Commission to reduce fees 
where they feel it is necessary or appropriate.  
 

15 



California Coastal Commission 
Revisions to the Statement of Reasons 
(Shown in Strikeout and Underline) 
 

In subsection (h)(2), the proposed revision reduces the fee for certain affordable housing 
developments. The purpose of this revision is to encourage affordable housing in the 
Coastal Zone. 
 
Government Code section 65915 and Government Code section 65590 require local 
governments to provide density bonuses and other incentives for the construction of 
affordable housing. Several local governments in the Coastal Zone, including County of 
Marin, City/County of San Francisco, County of San Mateo and the City of San Diego, 
now offer the option of deferred or reduced filing fees for affordable housing. 
 
The Coastal Act also addresses the need to encourage affordable housing. Section 
30604(g) of the Coastal Act states: 
 
“The Legislature finds and declares that it is important for the Commission to encourage 
the protection of existing and the provision of new affordable housing opportunities for 
persons of low and moderate income in the coastal zone.” 
 
The Commission has revised subsection 13055(h)(2) to improve clarity. The revisions are 
described in the 15-Day Notice of Revisions prepared for the comment period beginning 
January 23, 2008. The final text of the regulations is attached in Exhibit A. 
 
In subsection (h)(3), the proposed revision reduces the fee for green building. Coastal Act 
section 30253 requires new development to minimize energy consumption. Green 
buildings can significantly reduce the energy required to construct and operate commercial, 
industrial and residential buildings. The energy reduction can come from using sustainable 
building materials, incorporating development with public transportation, designing more 
efficient heating and cooling, and designing buildings that utilize efficient lighting. 
 
Reducing fees for green buildings is a powerful incentive the Commission can utilize to 
encourage new development to go beyond the requirements of the Coastal Act in energy 
conservation. 
 
The Commission has revised subsection 13055(h)(3) to improve clarity. The revisions are 
described in the 15-Day Notice of Revisions prepared for the comment period beginning 
January 23, 2008. The final text of the regulations is attached in Exhibit A. 
 
13055(i) 
The current regulations have a subsection which addresses a situation in which the 
applicant pays for an administrative permit, but then the project, or project circumstances, 
changes in a way that requires a regular permit. In this situation, the regulations require the 
applicant to either pay the regular filing fee before the public hearing, or prior to the 
issuance of the permit. 
 
The proposed revision expands this section to require applicants to pay the filing fee of the 
final project application that is reviewed. If a project changes so that the fee would be 
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larger, then an increased fee would be charged. And if a project changed so that the fee 
would be smaller, then a refund would be given, but only in circumstances where staff has 
not already performed substantial work on the initial application. 
 
For example, if an applicant is proposing to subdivide a property into 3 lots and build 3 
homes, but then changes the project to subdivide the property into 5 lots with 5 homes, 
then the applicant would be required to pay the fee necessary for the review of 5 lots with 5 
homes. If, however, the applicant initially proposed to subdivide the property into 5 lots 
with 5 homes, but decided very early on in the review process to subdivide the property 
into 3 lots with 3 homes, a refund would be given. If the applicant were to reduce the scope 
of the project late in the review process, or after the staff report was written, they would 
not be eligible for a refund. 
 
The purpose of this revision is to ensure that the Commission’s fees are directly related to 
the amount of Commission and staff time required to review the associated filings. 
 
13111 
In the first regulation revisions, which were made available for public comment from October 
30, 2007 through November 13, 2007, the Commission added a reference to the proposed fee 
for appeals in section 13111(b). The purpose of this revision is to ensure the regulations are 
internally consistent, in light of the proposed amendments. The revision will simply clarify the 
regulations, so that someone reading section 13111 will be aware of the associated fees. The 
revision is shown on page 1 of Exhibit B and below: 
 

“For an appeal to the Commission by an applicant pursuant to Public Resources 
Code sections 30602 or 30603(a)(5) of a denial of a coastal development permit 
application, the applicant shall submit a filing fee in accordance with the 
provisions of section 13055(b)(5)(B).” 

 
13169(d)(1) 
Section 13169 of the Commission’s regulations describes permit extensions. Permit 
extensions can be requested by applicants that have not begun their project before the 
original permit’s expiration. Often, it is found that there have not been changed 
circumstances, and a permit extension can be granted. However, when changed 
circumstances are found by the Commission, the applicant is required to submit additional 
information regarding the changed circumstances, and then a de novo review of the permit 
is performed. 
 
The current regulations do not require the applicant to pay a filing fee when changed 
circumstances have been found. However, the current application form conflicts with this, 
and does require payment of a fee when changed circumstances have been found. The time 
it takes to perform a de novo review of a permit under changed circumstances is similar to 
the time and effort it takes to review a new application. Therefore, the proposed revision 
amends section 13169 to require submittal of the appropriate filing fee before the de novo 
review, as called for in the current application form. The purpose of this revision is to 
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ensure that the Commission’s fees are directly related to the amount of Commission and 
staff time required to review the associated filings. 
 
13255.0 
The proposed revision adds boundary determination requests to this section, which 
previously applied only to boundary adjustments. The purpose of this revision is to add 
boundary determinations request to the regulations. Previously, boundary determinations 
were performed by staff, but they were not detailed in the regulations. 
 
13255.1 
The proposed revision makes reference to the fee for boundary determinations put forth in 
section 13055(b)(6). The purpose of the revision is to ensure the regulation regarding 
boundary determinations is clear and references the appropriate fee. 
 
13255.2(d) 
The proposed revision moves the fees for boundary adjustments from this subsection to 
subsection 13055(b)(7). The reason for this revision is to put all fees in the fees section 
13055, so that the regulations are clear and easy to follow. 
 
13576(c) 
Section 13576 applies to maps created after Local Coastal Program certification that show 
adopted boundaries. This section also applies to the process for revising and interpreting 
boundary determinations. The proposed revision adds a new subsection to 13576. The new 
subsection (c) would require a fee for interpretation or revision of boundaries on post-
certification maps, and a fee for determining the location of a parcel in relation to the 
boundaries shown on the map. The purpose of this revision is to ensure that the 
Commission’s fees are directly related to the amount of Commission and staff time 
required to review the associated filings. 
 

TECHNICAL STUDIES 
 
The Commission has determined that its filing fees should be updated so that they are not 
excessive in comparison to those charged by local governments in the coastal zone. To aid in the 
determination of fees that are typical in the coastal zone, staff performed a full comparison 
between the Commission’s current fees and the planning fees of the following five local 
agencies: County of Sonoma, County of San Mateo, County of Santa Barbara, City of 
Huntington Beach and City of Oxnard. These particular local governments were chosen for three 
main reasons: their fee categories are relatively similar to the Commission’s; the majority of their 
fees are flat fees, not fees based on cost recovery; and, they represent both rural and urban areas 
of the Coastal Zone. 
 
The survey of local governments was relied on to develop a general idea of what planning fees 
are in the coastal zone. A direct comparison of the fees was impossible because different 
agencies have different fee categories, and because services for each category are grouped into 
the fees in different ways. For example, the County of San Mateo charges separate fees for 
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design review and water quality review, but these services are included within the Commission’s 
current fees. To resolve this conflict, staff obtained a minimum and maximum fee from each of 
the five agencies for each of the Commission’s fee categories. Then, the mean average of the 
minimum and maximum fees for each category was calculated. Staff also conducted interviews 
with staff members from each of the agencies surveyed to ensure correct interpretation of the fee 
schedules. 
 
It is important to note that the fee comparison did not include the local governments’ fees for 
environmental review, and therefore portray the local government review fees below what they 
actually are. Because local governments are generally the CEQA lead agency, they charge fees 
for the preparation of CEQA documents. These fees are substantial, and are often charged on a 
cost recovery basis. Although the Commission is often a responsible agency, not the lead agency, 
it still performs an in-depth review of the lead agency’s document. 
 
In some cases, often with seawalls and piers, the Commission does act as the CEQA lead agency 
and prepares functionally equivalent documents, pursuant to the certification that the Secretary 
of Resources has granted to the Commission pursuant to section 21080.5 of the CEQA. 
However, these applications are not charged an additional fee on the basis of the Commission’s 
status as lead agency. Instead, the CEQA review service is included in the normal fee.  
 
ALTERNATIVES 
 
The Commission has considered four alternatives to the proposed regulations. The first 
alternative is to make no changes to the regulations. The second is to increase the existing fees 
according to the inflation that has occurred since they were established in 1991. The third 
alternative is to increase the existing fees by 8, as was done in the most recent fee increase which 
took place in 1991. And the final alternative considered by the Commission is to charge fees 
based on a cost recovery system. 
 
The first alternative is to make no changes to the regulations. However, the fees the Commission 
currently charges applicants are low and cover only a very small portion of the costs for the 
Commission’s regulatory program. The Commission's filing fees have not been raised since 1991 
and they are substantially lower than the fees charged by local governments with certified LCPs. 
 
The second alternative is to increase the existing fees according to the inflation that has occurred 
since they were established in 1991. However, an increase based on inflation is not sufficient to 
address the time and effort it takes to review projects in the current environment. The change in 
inflation from 1991 to 2006, calculated using the California Consumer Price Index, is 
approximately a multiplier of 1.5. 5
 
The third alternative is to increase the existing fees by 8, as was done in the last fee increase 
which took place in 1991. However, if the Commission were to apply this increase, some fees 

 
5 The 2006 Annual California Consumer Price Index value was 210.5. The 1991 Annual California Consumer Price 
Index value was 140.6. Change in inflation from 1991 to 2006 is 210.5/140.6 = 1.497 
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would be disproportionate to the time spent by staff to review the applications, and some fees 
would be disproportionate to each other. For example, the fee for a 12,000 square foot 
commercial building would be $16,000 more than the fee for an 8,000 square foot commercial 
building. 
 
The final alternative is to charge fees based on a cost recovery system. Many government 
agencies charge filing fees based on cost recovery. In these agencies, all staff involved in the 
review of a project track the time spent on each filing, and the applicant is charged accordingly. 
Cost recovery systems cause more complicated applications to be charged more, and less 
complicated applications to be charged less. However, a drawback of cost recovery systems is 
that the cost of staff review to the applicant is difficult to predict. A full cost recovery system 
would result in much higher fees to applicants. Therefore, flat fees are the most predictable and 
most fair to the applicant. 
 
Also, the Commission’s current staff structure could not support a cost recovery system. It is 
time consuming for analysts to track their time, it would require additional staff in the accounting 
department, and it may result in applicants disputing the amount of time spent analyzing their 
applications.  
 
SIGNIFICANT ADVERSE IMPACT ON BUSINESS 
 
The proposed amendments will not have a significant impact on business, or impair the ability of 
California businesses to compete with businesses in other states. This is because only a very 
small percentage of businesses in the Coastal Zone are required to pay the Commission’s filing 
fees. These are the businesses which voluntarily elect to undertake development in the coastal 
zone and as a result, submit permit applications and other filings to the Commission. 
Additionally, once a local government has coastal permitting authority to issue permits within 
their jurisdiction, businesses will then apply for a coastal development permit from their local 
government.  Also, these businesses are only required to pay a one time fee, typically at the time 
of development, which is a very small percentage of the project’s total development cost. 
Furthermore, the Commission’s proposed fees are not excessive in comparison to those charged 
by local governments which issue coastal development permits in the Coastal Zone.  
 
COMPARABLE FEDERAL REGULATIONS 
 
There are no existing comparable federal regulations or statutes. 
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ESTIMATED FILING FEES
FY 2006/07 TO FY 2008/09

( A ) ( B ) ( C ) ( A ) ( A ) ( B ) ( C ) ( A ) ( B ) ( C )
Current Proposed Proposed Estimated Proj Current Proj MIN Proj MAX Proj Current Proj MIN Proj MAX

Fees Fees (Min) Fees (Max) FY 2005/06 Percent3 FY 2006/07 Revenues FY 2007/08 Revenues Revenues4 Revenues4 FY 2008/09 Revenues Revenues Revenues
Total Applications with Associated Revenue1 956                857                910                910                
Total Number of Fees Assessed2 1,342             1,203             1,277             1,277             
Breakdown of Fees Categories:

1 Waiver $200 $500 $500 333                24.81% 299                $59,703 317                $63,395 $110,942 $110,942 317                $63,395 $158,488 $158,488
2 Administrative Permit $200 $2,500 $2,500 78                  5.81% 70                  $13,985 74                  $14,849 $100,233 $100,233 74                  $14,849 $185,617 $185,617
3 Up to 4 SFRs <1,500 sq. feet $250 $3,000 $12,000 18                  1.34% 16                  $4,034 17                  $4,283 $27,843 $104,945 17                  $4,283 $51,402 $205,607
4 Up to 4 SFRs 1,501<5,000 sq. feet $500 $4,500 $18,000 71                  5.29% 64                  $31,824 68                  $33,792 $168,959 $625,149 68                  $33,792 $304,127 $1,216,506
5 Up to 4 SFRs 5,001<10,000 sq. feet $1,000 $6,000 $24,000 22                  1.64% 20                  $19,722 21                  $20,941 $73,295 $261,768 21                  $20,941 $125,649 $502,594
6 Up to 4 SFRs >10,001 sq. feet $1,000 $7,500 $30,000 5                    0.37% 4                    $4,482 5                    $4,759 $20,228 $73,771 5                    $4,759 $35,696 $142,782
7 5 or more SFRs average <1,500 sq. feet $250 $15,000 $15,000 -                 0.00% -                 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0
8 5 or more SFRs average 1,501<5,000 sq. feet $500 $22,500 $22,500 1                    0.07% 1                    $448 1                    $476 $10,947 $10,947 1                    $476 $21,417 $21,417
9 5 or more SFRs average 5,001<10,000 sq. feet $1,000 $30,000 $30,000 1                    0.07% 1                    $896 1                    $952 $14,754 $14,754 1                    $952 $28,556 $28,556

10 5 or more SFRs average >10,001 sq. feet $1,000 $37,500 $37,500 -                 0.00% -                 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0
11 Attached Residential up to 4 units $600 $7,500 $7,500 16                  1.19% 14                  $8,606 15                  $9,138 $61,682 $61,682 15                  $9,138 $114,226 $114,226
12 More than 4 Attached Residential units $2,000 $10,000 $10,000 1                    0.07% 1                    $1,793 1                    $1,904 $5,711 $5,711 1                    $1,904 $9,519 $9,519
13 Subdivisions $1,000 $3,000 $12,000 11                  0.82% 10                  $9,861 10                  $10,471 $20,941 $68,060 10                  $10,471 $31,412 $125,649
14 Grading 51<100 c.y. $250 $500 $500 2                    0.15% 2                    $448 2                    $476 $714 $714 2                    $476 $952 $952
15 Grading 101<1000 c.y. $200 $1,000 $1,000 25                  1.86% 22                  $4,482 24                  $4,759 $14,278 $14,278 24                  $4,759 $23,797 $23,797
16 Grading 1,001<10,000 c.y. $200 $2,000 $2,000 13                  0.97% 12                  $2,331 12                  $2,475 $13,612 $13,612 12                  $2,475 $24,749 $24,749
17 Grading 10,001<100,000 c.y. $200 $3,000 $3,000 4                    0.30% 4                    $717 4                    $762 $6,092 $6,092 4                    $762 $11,423 $11,423
18 Grading >100,001 c.y. $200 $5,000 $5,000 -                 0.00% -                 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0
19 Commercial/Industrial <1,000 sq. feet $500 $5,000 $5,000 1                    0.07% 1                    $448 1                    $476 $2,618 $2,618 1                    $476 $4,759 $4,759
20 Commercial/Industrial 1,001<10,000 sq. feet $2,000 $10,000 $10,000 8                    0.60% 7                    $14,343 8                    $15,230 $45,690 $45,690 8                    $15,230 $76,151 $76,151
21 Commercial/Industrial 10,001<25,000 sq. feet $4,000 $15,000 $15,000 3                    0.22% 3                    $10,757 3                    $11,423 $27,129 $27,129 3                    $11,423 $42,835 $42,835
22 Commercial/Industrial 25,001<50,000 sq. feet $8,000 $20,000 $20,000 -                 0.00% -                 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0
23 Commercial/Industrial 50,001<100,000 sq. feet $12,000 $30,000 $30,000 -                 0.00% -                 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0
24 Commercial/Industrial >100,001 sq. feet $20,000 $50,000 $50,000 -                 0.00% -                 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0
25 Commercial/Industrial <$100,000 $600 $3,000 $3,000 95                  7.08% 85                  $51,097 90                  $54,257 $162,772 $162,772 90                  $54,257 $271,287 $271,287
26 Commercial/Industrial $100,001<$500,000 $600 $6,000 $6,000 9                    0.67% 8                    $4,841 9                    $5,140 $28,271 $28,271 9                    $5,140 $51,402 $51,402
27 Commercial/Industrial $500,001<$2,000,000 $2,000 $10,000 $10,000 -                 0.00% -                 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0
28 Commercial/Industrial $2,000,001<$5,000,000 $4,000 $20,000 $20,000 -                 0.00% -                 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0
29 Commercial/Industrial $5,000,001<$10,000,000 $8,000 $25,000 $25,000 1                    0.07% 1                    $7,172 1                    $7,615 $15,706 $15,706 1                    $7,615 $23,797 $23,797
30 Commercial/Industrial $10,000,001<$25,000,000 $12,000 $30,000 $30,000 -                 0.00% -                 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0
31 Commercial/Industrial $25,000,001<$50,000,000 $20,000 $50,000 $50,000 -                 0.00% -                 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0
32 Commercial/Industrial $50,000,001<$100,000,000 $20,000 $100,000 $100,000 1                    0.07% 1                    $17,929 1                    $19,038 $57,113 $57,113 1                    $19,038 $95,188 $95,188
33 Commercial/Industrial >$100,000,000 $20,000 $250,000 $250,000 -                 0.00% -                 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0
34 Emergency permit $200 $1,000 $1,000 20                  1.49% 18                  $3,586 19                  $3,808 $11,423 $11,423 19                  $3,808 $19,038 $19,038
35 Immaterial amendment $200 $1,000 $1,000 40                  2.98% 36                  $7,172 38                  $7,615 $22,845 $22,845 38                  $7,615 $38,075 $38,075
36 Material amendment5 50% Initial Fee 50% Initial Fee 50% Initial Fee 56                  4.17% 50                  53                  53                  
37 Extension/Reconsideration: single-family residences $200 $500 $500 69                  5.14% 62                  $12,371 66                  $13,136 $22,988 $22,988 66                  $13,136 $32,840 $32,840
38 Extension/Reconsideration: all other developments $400 $1,000 $1,000 42                  3.13% 38                  $15,060 40                  $15,992 $27,985 $27,985 40                  $15,992 $39,979 $39,979
39 Temporary Events $500 $2,500 $2,500 2                    0.15% 2                    $896 2                    $952 $2,856 $2,856 2                    $952 $4,759 $4,759
40 Permit Exemption $0 $250 $250 372                27.72% 333                $0 354                $0 $44,263 $44,263 354                $0 $88,525 $88,525
41 Continuance $100 $1,000 $1,000 -                 0.00% -                 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0
42 Boundary Determination $0 $250 $250 -                 0.00% -                 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0
43 Boundary Adjustment $250 $5,000 $5,000 -                 0.00% -                 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0 -                 $0 $0 $0
44 After the Fact5 200% Total Fees 500% Total Fees 500% Total Fees 16                  1.19% 14                  15                  15                  
45 Lot Line Adjustment $600 $3,000 $3,000 6                    0.45% 5                    $3,227 6                    $3,427 $10,280 $10,280 6                    $3,427 $17,134 $17,134

TOTAL 1,342             100.00% 1,203             $312,231 1,277             $331,541 $1,132,169 $1,954,596 1,277             $331,541 $1,932,798 $3,577,652
1/ Not all applications are assessed a fee; Applications from public agencies, and applications for appeals and LCP amendments are exempted from paying fees and are not included in this chart.
2/ Two or more fees can be assessed on one application.  Based on FY 2005/06, one application has a 40% chance of being assessed more than one fee.
3/ Percentages derived from Model Year FY 2005/06 are used to project the fee count in subsequent years.
4/ FY 2007/08 projected revenues assumes that proposed new fees are effective 01/01/2008 resulting in 6 months of increased revenues.
5/ Fees for category 36 and 44 make up approximately 5% of annual fee count in the 2005/06 Model Year. Because these fees are so variable, they have not been included in the projection.
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